Simple Eggless Smash Cake


Recently I made my first eggless cake! And if I do say so myself, it turned out pretty good!

20140302-122454.jpg

A friend of mine was having a hard time finding a bakery that would make a small smash cake for her son’s first birthday, that was eggless. Either the bakery couldn’t do it or wanted to charge her a ridiculous amount for it. So I told her I would do it. Boy did I get myself into a big job. Having never made an “eggless” cake, I immediately started Googling recipes. Oh my! There are so many different ways and some crazy egg substitutes out there. Then another friend informed me there is a super SIMPLE way to make an eggless cake! Here is what you need to make an eggless cake:

– Any brand and flavor of cake mix
– 12oz can of Soda (your choice if flavor)

When I made my cake I used Betty Crocker “Super Moist” white cake mix and Wal-Mart Great Value Cream Soda. I chose cream soda because I didn’t want a strong soda taste, since the cake was for a 1st birthday.

To make the cake you follow the directions on the box as normal, but instead of the eggs, add the 12 ounces of soda. Bake as instructed. It’s that simple! No need for special, costly egg substitutes and more than likely you have what you need in your fridge anyway.

* It may take longer to bake than what it says on the box.

Here are some tips when decorating your cake:

– After removing slightly cooled cake from pan, wrap it in plastic wrap and put in freeze. Lay it on a cake board so that it freezes flat. Let it stay in freezer for at least 2 hours to over night. By doing this it will lock in the moisture and make icing the cake easier.

20140302-122151.jpg

– After applying crumb coat put the cake in the freezer to harden. This will help the top layer of icing to go on better as well.

– Use powdered sugar on rolling-pin and table, when working with fondant.

I think the little guy approved of the cake too!

20140309-230651.jpg

20140309-231030.jpg

(Photos compliments of E & M Photography – keli.allen.ka@gmail.com)

Good luck with your eggless cake!

2 thoughts on “Simple Eggless Smash Cake

  1. Hi there,
    Thanks for posting the recipe. I’m trying to do an eggless smash cake for my baby’s birthday. I was wondering what you’d recommend and the amount for soda substitute? I have heard of using apple sauce or bananas but not sure how much I will need in this case for a store bought mix. I hope to hear from you soon. Thanks so much.

    Like

Got a thought? Leave it....

